Possible cross-platform between PS4 and Xbox One

Since last week there have been rumors about a possible cross-platform future in the gaming industry between Xbox One and PS4, for many this is really a great idea but not so much for others. What could one of the good things about having cross-platform? Well not everyone is a fan of one or the other platform; some people like Microsoft others like Sony gaming console, for those with one console is hard to play with friends that have the other one. For example, I have a PS3 and PC, most of my games I play are on PC but many of my friends have either a PS4 or Xbox One, so playing the same game together is impossible, I enjoy my PC due to performance and graphics, while my friends prefer a console. Now some people like to have different consoles from PS4, Xbox One, PS3, PC whatever is out there to have different experiences, but some of us don’t have that much money for every console.

“PlayStation has been supporting cross-platform play between PC on several software titles starting with Final Fantasy 11 on PS2 and PC back in 2002,” notes a statement from Sony to GameSpot. “We would be happy to have the conversation with any publishers or developers who are interested in cross platform play.”

Now cross-platform is not new, Sony has been doing it on some titles as stated in The Verge article and if I’m not mistaken Microsoft has done it as well, correct me if I’m wrong. But cross platform involves many things is not just let all play together, I’m not a game developer but I’m sure is time consuming and uses many resources. Now just think about this, if at one point there are 7000 people in one state playing a certain game in PS4, and about 3000 on Xbox One, and let’s say another 3000 on PC, would all those people join one server to play the same game if cross platform was available? Or does each company run their own server? I have so many questions about this, and what does it involve in the cross-platform?

Source

 

Leave a Reply

